Typical Thursday

Today was like most days, except, I was super lazy and didn’t get out of bed until 2 hours after I had wanted to.  I started my day off with some Dr. Who and coffee…best way to start the day if you ask me.  Then I went to a meeting.  I’m excited about this because I am joining forces with an exceptional woman to make things happen in the community that I am residing in.  Just like she said, ‘you don’t want to leave a place the way you first arrived to it’.  And that’s exactly what’s happening, I’m working with her to make some much needed changes and to help certain aspects of the community grow.  I concluded my day by conducting a few interviews and began transcribing them.  Transcription is such a tedious process, but a necessary one.  I have a feeling that the Dragon company will invent a software that will detect multiple voices right after I’m done with my dissertation, but such is life.  I am also excited today because Mark bought his plane tickets to come see me.  I can’t wait until he gets here!  I am looking forward to seeing my cuddle buddie and be a tourist with him.  Over the summer we were ‘tourists’ in Galveston.  We played on the beach, ate ice cream and fried shrimp, walked around and just enjoyed being with each other.  I look forward to doing that when he’s here.  I also look forward to showing him what it is I do.  My work and my education is exceptionally important to me and knowing that he takes a vested interested in my career is as equally important.  When I envisioned the man that I wanted to be with, I knew he’d have to accept me for my neediness and my post-it note obsession…I believe Mark does both :).  It is also fun being with Mark, for several reasons, but one is that I am experiencing parts of life that for many years I never thought I would get to.  I hope he has as much fun with me, lol.  After working out I decided to take out the trash and feed the dog. As soon as I opened the door to take out the trash I immediately heard something charge at me and could hear leaves being kicked up.  Since the outside light is broken, we are in the hills, and various animals including  dogs run around, I hauled my booty in the house.  As I stood with my back pressed against the doorframe, heart pounding, labored breathing, I decided the trash would wait until the morning.  So now, it’s back to transcribing and not being consumed by things that go bump in the night. 

About mjadez

I am PhD. student who enjoys reading, writing, dancing, cooking, and tons of other things that make life fun!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment